Setapp has redefined how Mac and iOS users access software by bundling premium applications into a single subscription. Instead of purchasing individual licenses, users gain unlimited access to a curated library of tools, making it especially valuable for freelancers, developers, and creative professionals who rely on multiple apps daily. Businesses also benefit by simplifying software procurement and reducing overall costs through centralized subscriptions.
In today’s SaaS-driven economy, subscription-based models continue to replace one-time purchases across industries. Setapp reflects this broader shift by offering predictable pricing, continuous updates, and a streamlined user experience. Its growing catalog, integration of AI-powered tools, and expansion into team-based plans highlight its relevance in modern workflows. As adoption increases globally, understanding Setapp’s subscription trends, user behavior, and revenue dynamics provides valuable insight into the future of software distribution. Let’s explore the full data behind its growth.
Editor’s Choice
- The platform started with just 40 apps in 2016, scaling to over 330 apps by 2026.
- Monthly pricing has risen from $9.99 in 2018 to $14.99 today.
- Developers receive 70% of membership revenue, split by how much members actually used their apps.
Recent Developments
- MacPaw launched Eney, a proactive AI assistant for the Mac, as a separate product alongside Setapp.
- The company launched Setapp Mobile in 2024, targeting iOS users in the EU.
- Setapp Mobile launched with 50+ iOS apps for EU users before MacPaw retired it.
- A 7-day free trial became standard for new mobile plan users.
- MacPaw discontinued Setapp Mobile in early 2026, citing complex business terms.
- The platform expanded into alternative app distribution under EU regulations.
- Surveys show 42% of macOS users now use AI-based apps daily, aligning with Setapp’s AI push.
What Is Setapp?
- Setapp is a subscription-based app platform launched by MacPaw in 2016, offering access to curated macOS and iOS apps.
- The platform follows a “Netflix-style” software model, allowing unlimited app usage under one monthly fee.
- As of 2026, Setapp provides access to 330+ apps across Mac, iOS, and web.
- Subscription pricing starts at $14.99 per month for one Mac, with annual billing saving up to 40%.
- The platform includes both macOS and iOS apps, expanding beyond desktop-only access since 2020.
- Setapp eliminates in-app purchases and ads, ensuring premium access across all included apps.
- Developers earn revenue through a usage-based distribution model, similar to Spotify payouts.
- The service supports multiple languages, including English, German, and French, increasing global accessibility.
- Setapp integrates AI tools and assistants to improve app discovery and productivity workflows.
Setapp Launch and Growth Timeline
- Setapp launched in beta in November 2016 and officially in January 2017.
- By January 2018, Setapp had 15,000 paying subscribers and 105 apps at $9.99 a month.
- In 2020, Setapp added iOS compatibility, increasing its potential user base.
- By 2023-2025, the platform expanded with AI tools and automation features.
Total Number of Setapp Users Over Time
MacPaw has published a subscriber count exactly once. Everything else in circulation is estimate, so this section stays with the figure the company actually confirmed.
- Setapp reached 15,000 paying subscribers a year after its January 2017 launch, the last count MacPaw confirmed publicly.
- The catalog grew from about 40 apps in the 2016 beta to 330+ in 2026.
- Setapp passed 240 apps in 2024, at its seventh anniversary.
- MacPaw publishes no current subscriber total. Third-party figures for 2022 onward are modeled, not reported, so this page does not carry them.
Setapp Growth Milestones
Four points in Setapp’s history are documented rather than modeled. They are the ones below.
- Setapp launched publicly in January 2017 after a 2016 beta that carried about 40 apps.
- By January 2018 the service had 15,000 paying subscribers and 105 apps, priced at $9.99 a month.
- The catalog reached 240+ apps by its seventh anniversary in 2024.
- It stands at 330+ apps across Mac, iOS, and web in 2026, with the entry plan at $14.99.
- That is a 50% price rise against roughly 3x the catalog since 2018.
Trial Length and Conversion Context
Setapp publishes its trial length. It does not publish how many trials convert, so the benchmark figures below are labeled as industry data, not as Setapp results.
- Setapp offers a 7-day free trial on every plan.
- The only confirmed subscriber figure remains 15,000 paying users in January 2018.
- Setapp has never published a trial-to-paid conversion rate. Treat any specific percentage attributed to it as an estimate.
- Across SaaS generally, free-trial conversion benchmarks commonly land in the single digits to mid-teens depending on whether a card is required up front.
What Setapp Measures About App Usage
Setapp does not publish monthly or daily active users. It does document how it measures usage, because developer pay depends on it.
- Setapp distributes 70% of each membership fee across the developers whose apps a member actually opened in that billing period.
- An app earns from the 70% pool only in periods when a member opened it. Open none of a developer’s apps and that developer earns nothing that period.
- Setapp may wait up to 28 days for complete usage statistics, and calculates income on available data if they do not arrive.
- Payout balances accrue daily rather than monthly, because members’ billing cycles end on different days.
- Payouts are processed at the start of each month and made by the 7th.
Setapp Reach and Localization
Setapp publishes its geographic split in its developer materials, and MacPaw ran a formal EU user survey in 2024.
- Setapp serves users in 110+ countries.
- 44% of Setapp users live in Europe, 34% in North America, and 22% elsewhere.
- The service is localized in 8 languages.
- MacPaw surveyed over 1,200 iOS users across EU countries including France, Germany, and Spain for its 2024 iOS Market Insights report.
- 80% of those surveyed said they would try a third-party app store, and 60% of developers said they would list outside the App Store.
- 25% of surveyed users struggle to judge an app’s value before downloading, and 38% report uncertainty about app security and data privacy.
Setapp Against Buying the Same Apps Outright
The clearest way to place Setapp is against the standalone price of apps inside it, checked at each vendor in August 2026.
- Ulysses costs $39.99 a year or $5.99 a month on its own.
- CleanShot X is $29 once, with $19 a year for continued updates and $10 a month for Cloud Pro.
- BusyCal is $49.99 as a one-time license.
- Bartender 6 starts at $12, with a separate Pro tier billed yearly.
- CleanMyMac starts at $3.33 a month billed annually.
- Setapp covers all of them for $14.99 a month, or about $107.88 a year annually.
Plan Tiers and Device Coverage
Device limits, not user counts, separate the Setapp plans. Read them before assuming one subscription covers your whole desk.
- The Mac plan at $14.99/month covers one Mac and includes 1,000 AI credits.
- Mac + iOS at $18.99/month covers one Mac plus four iOS devices.
- Power User at $22.99/month covers four Macs and four iOS devices, with 2,000 AI credits.
- Annual billing saves up to 40%, which brings the Mac plan to about $107.88 a year.
- Setapp has retired its Family plan, and its public pricing page lists no separate per-seat Teams tier.
Churn and Retention Benchmarks
MacPaw publishes no churn or retention figure for Setapp. The numbers here are SaaS-wide benchmarks and should be read as context, not as Setapp performance.
- Setapp does not disclose churn. Any Setapp-specific monthly churn percentage in circulation is modeled from generic SaaS averages.
- Reported SaaS churn benchmarks vary widely by segment, which is why a single industry number transfers badly to one product.
- Setapp’s $14.99 entry price has held steady, and predictable pricing is one of the few retention levers visible from outside.
- Annual billing at up to 40% off locks in a longer commitment than monthly billing does.
Setapp Subscription Plans and Pricing
- The base Mac plan is priced at $14.99/month and covers one Mac, with 1,000 AI credits.
- The Mac + iOS plan costs $18.99/month, adding four iOS devices to one Mac.
- The price difference of $4 between Mac and Mac + iOS highlights a relatively low-cost expansion into Apple’s ecosystem.
- The Power User plan is the top tier at $22.99/month, covering four Macs and four iOS devices with 2,000 AI credits.
- Setapp has retired the Family plan and no longer lists it, leaving three tiers on the public pricing page.
- Pricing runs from $14.99 to $22.99 a month across three tiers, separated by device coverage rather than app count.
- The plans emphasize device-based access tiers, distinguishing between single-device, multi-device, and multi-user use cases.
- Overall, Setapp’s pricing reflects a value-driven bundling model, where higher tiers progressively unlock greater device coverage and user scalability.
How Setapp Splits Revenue With Developers
MacPaw does not disclose Setapp revenue. It does publish the split that determines what developers earn, which is the part you can actually verify.
- Setapp distributes 70% of membership revenue to developers and keeps 10%, sharing 20% with partners who bring in users.
- On single-app sales Setapp takes 25%, which it describes as one of the lowest commissions on the market.
- Developers who bring their own users earn a partner fee of +20% on top of the usage-based share.
- Each price tier carries a multiplier that weights how the 70% pool is split, so a higher-priced app claims a larger share of the same usage.
- Setapp tiers on the annual price, multiplying a monthly-only price by 12 to derive it.
- No audited revenue figure exists for Setapp. Widely quoted numbers trace back to estimate aggregators, so this page omits them.
Number of Apps in the Setapp Catalog
- Setapp launched in 2016 with around 40 macOS apps during its beta phase.
- By 2017, the catalog grew to roughly 61 apps at public launch.
- By 2021 the catalog passed 200 apps, and reached 240+ by its seventh anniversary in 2024.
- In 2024, the library expanded to over 240 apps for its seventh anniversary.
- As of 2026, Setapp offers 330+ curated apps across Mac, iOS, and web.
- Setapp Mobile launched with 50+ iOS apps in 2024 before discontinuation.
- New apps are added every month after curation and testing.
- Developers receive 70% of membership revenue, allocated by measured app usage in each billing period.
Developer Ecosystem and Revenue Share
- Setapp distributes 70% of membership revenue across developers by measured app usage, keeping 10% and sharing 20% with partners.
- For its iOS marketplace, Setapp advertises a base 70% revenue share with potential earnings of up to 90% when developers also drive customer referrals.
- The catalog holds 330+ apps in 2026 across Mac, iOS, and web.
- Setapp launched with about 40 partner apps in 2016 and carried 105 apps by January 2018, showing how fast early developer sign-up moved.
- Nearly 90% of surveyed Mac developers say Setapp-style revenue sharing is worth it for the distribution and marketing advantages provided.
- Setapp reaches users in 110+ countries, helping smaller developers convert localized exposure into recurring subscription income.
- The Partner Program adds a +20% share of fees from each user a developer brings in, stacked on the usage-based split.
- Setapp curates apps via strict quality checks before inclusion, which improves discoverability and can boost engagement-based revenue for participating developers.
What Setapp Has Actually Announced
Forecasts age badly, so this section tracks shipped and announced changes instead.
- Setapp opened single-app subscriptions in 2026, letting people buy one app instead of the full membership.
- The AI Gateway gives developers one API layer across OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, and local models, billed through the MacPaw Wallet.
- Setapp is letting developers sell outside the Membership, moving the platform toward an open marketplace.
- MacPaw discontinued Setapp Mobile, its EU alternative iOS marketplace, in early 2026.
- The membership now spans Mac, iOS, and web apps rather than macOS alone.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Setapp offers access to 330+ apps, including productivity, design, and AI tools.
Setapp pricing starts at $14.99 per month after a free trial.
MacPaw last confirmed 15,000 paying subscribers in January 2018 and has not published a subscriber total since.
Setapp had around 15,000 paying subscribers within its first year.
Conclusion
Setapp continues to establish itself as a distinctive player in the subscription software ecosystem by offering a curated, all-in-one solution for Mac users. Its steady expansion in app offerings, consistent pricing model, and focus on user experience have helped it maintain strong engagement and retention levels. Beyond that, the platform’s ability to balance value for both users and developers through a usage-based revenue model strengthens its long-term sustainability.
Looking ahead, the integration of AI tools, increasing enterprise adoption, and the global shift toward subscription-based services position Setapp for continued growth. While competition from traditional app marketplaces and bundled services may intensify, Setapp’s niche focus and curated approach provide a clear competitive edge. As software consumption evolves, Setapp stands as a strong example of how subscription models can simplify access, reduce costs, and enhance productivity for modern users. Anyone weighing the numbers against real use can start with a 30-day free Setapp trial through our link, well beyond the standard seven days.



Leave a comment
Have something to say about this article? Add your comment and start the discussion.